Entry Level, Level 1 and Level 2 Modern Languages (2008)

Following the cancellation of examinations, the Occupational Studies, Vocational and Entry Level qualifications Summer 2021 Alternative Arrangements - Process for Heads of Centre provides information on alternative awarding arrangements for Summer 2021. In the meantime, should you have any queries, please email CCEA Helpline helpline@ccea.org.uk.

Please note that the last opportunity for assessment for these qualifications is Summer 2021; after that, the qualifications will be withdrawn. In 2020 and 2021 the assessment is available in Summer only.

CCEA Awards in Modern Languages are available at Entry Level 2 (Step 1), Entry Level 3 (Step 2), Level 1 (Step 3) and Level 2 (Step 4). Learners can choose any one of five languages on offer: French, German, Irish, Italian or Spanish.

Each qualification has four units and focuses on the skills of listening, speaking, reading and writing. Learners do not need to have any prior experience of modern languages before they begin the Entry Level 2 specification.

The assessment consists of a short task, which we set, for each unit. Tutors assess the tasks and conduct internal standardisation, and we moderate a sample.

We also provide defined language content for each language at each level.


Qualification news & updates

Register now for NICILT Teacher Professional Learning Webinars with Joe Dale.


Current Specification

Subject Code: N/A

Language Content

For more information on this specification contact:

Philip Cummings
Subject Officer
(028) 9026 1200 ext. 2904
Joan Jennings
Specification Support Officer
(028) 9026 1439